Page 1 of 1

Script needed for LogMeIn Pro

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 5:37 pm
by Mitch
Hello all, I am in need of a script that will 1. check for a LogMeIn installation 2. start the service (if not already started) and 3. bring up the LogMeIn Pro window when my clients click on the Request (Remote) Support button in my dSupport Suite app. My reason for the request are: 1. Not all of my clients are using LogMeIn. ( I am also using Techinline and Mikogo for backups or non-regulars). 2. Not all of my clients would like to have the LogMeIn service running in the background at all times and 3. This would just make the whole process of connecting seamless rather than have them go through the motions of launching the app, clicking on request support and then having to find the LogMeIn program either in the start menu (and waiting for the service to start) or looking for in the sys tray.

I truly hope I am not asking too much and if someone could provide me with this, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks again,

Re: Script needed for LogMeIn Pro

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 7:41 am
by Nick
can you provide details on exactly where logmein is installed, the executable name to launch, and the actual service name (not the windows descriptive name) of its service. I can probably whip something up for you real quick.

Re: Script needed for LogMeIn Pro

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 12:46 pm
by Mitch
Hi Nick, thanks for the response.

LogMeIn is installed here: C:\LogMeIn.msi, the executable is named connect.exe and I believe the service name is LMIGuardiansvc (the other two services I see running are LogMeIn and LogMeIn Maintenance Service.

Thanks for your help.

Re: Script needed for LogMeIn Pro

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 3:50 pm
by Nick
how about this batch:

Code: Select all
@echo off
if exist %systemdrive%\logmein.msi\connect.exe (
     net start LMIGuardiansvc
     net start logmein
     start %systemdrive%\logmein.msi\connect.exe
)


that third service you mentioned isn't the actual service name (they don't contain spaces) ... but you can add a net start whatever to the batch to fire it up when you learn the name.

Re: Script needed for LogMeIn Pro

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 8:00 pm
by Mitch
Thanks Nick I appreciate this very much!

Re: Script needed for LogMeIn Pro

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 9:20 pm
by Mitch
Yea, sorry. I am definitely doing something wrong. When trying to run the script I am getting this error:

Line: 1
Char: 1
Error: Invalid character
Code: 800A0408
Source: Microsoft VBScript compilation error

I looked into this about an invalid character, encoding to ANSI and all that.

Re: Script needed for LogMeIn Pro

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 10:10 pm
by Xander
It's a batch (.bat), not a .vbs.

Re: Script needed for LogMeIn Pro

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 10:49 pm
by Mitch
"forehead smack"! thanks Xander. It helps to read sometime.