New ClientID from Generic Installer

Post feature suggestions here for dSupportSuite (including dCloud / dCloud Self-Hosted and the dSupportSuite Management Console)
Forum rules
1. Try to give more than you take, when possible.
2. SEARCH THE FORUMS BEFORE STARTING A NEW TOPIC.

New ClientID from Generic Installer

Postby borkedpc » Wed Apr 10, 2013 11:15 am

I'm not sure if this is a bug or I screwed something up...
I ran the generic installer and created a new ClientID.
When I got back to the office and checked dCC (after refreshing ClientID list), the new ClientID was not listed.

Tried this with a 2nd install on my test box and it also didn't show up in dCC.

However, when I tried this feature when you first released it, I had no problems. Worked like a dream.

Any ideas?
borkedpc
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 1:47 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: New ClientID from Generic Installer

Postby Nick » Wed Apr 10, 2013 12:12 pm

Did you get any error message at all during the install portion when after you create the new client ID? I was careful to put in a lot of error popups should one occur during that phase.

I wonder if this is related to the dCC end of things and not dSS install phase...

BUT I've been looking into this and can't seem to find a problem or duplicate it with my own setup. I will try with your generic installer when I get back from lunch and see if that does any differently.
Author of d7x and other PC technician's tools. http://www.d7xTech.com

Image
User avatar
Nick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2786
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm

Re: New ClientID from Generic Installer

Postby borkedpc » Wed Apr 10, 2013 12:27 pm

No errors or pop ups.
Everything seems to be going smoothly.

As far as I remember, this is the same generic installer that worked in the beginning.
borkedpc
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 1:47 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: New ClientID from Generic Installer

Postby Nick » Wed Apr 10, 2013 12:36 pm

Did you manually add the client IDs into dCC since the issue occurred, or have you not touched it yet? If you have NOT touched it yet and the IDs are still missing, email me the ID names and I will check them on dCloud.
Author of d7x and other PC technician's tools. http://www.d7xTech.com

Image
User avatar
Nick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2786
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm

Re: New ClientID from Generic Installer

Postby borkedpc » Wed Apr 10, 2013 12:42 pm

I have not manually added the missing ID's yet.
Emailing...
borkedpc
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 1:47 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: New ClientID from Generic Installer

Postby Nick » Wed Apr 10, 2013 1:16 pm

I checked and they don't exist on the server at all, the directory/config nor the entry in your subscriptions file. I added them, but you will need to add a config now for that client ID through dCC. Make sure your client ID list is refreshed and you see the missing ID, switch to it, and then load a template and customize if necessary - EDIT - then upload it!
Author of d7x and other PC technician's tools. http://www.d7xTech.com

Image
User avatar
Nick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2786
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm

Re: New ClientID from Generic Installer

Postby borkedpc » Wed Apr 10, 2013 1:43 pm

Thanks Nick.
I see the missing ID now.

I'll try a new ClientID from generic installer later when I get a chance and let you know if it works or not.
borkedpc
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 1:47 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: New ClientID from Generic Installer

Postby Nick » Wed Apr 10, 2013 3:13 pm

Pay attention to see if you get the message:

"Do NOT forget, if you have any open dCloudConsole sessions, be sure to either Refresh Client ID List or close and re-open dCloudConsole!"

after creating a new ID during install.
Author of d7x and other PC technician's tools. http://www.d7xTech.com

Image
User avatar
Nick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2786
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm

Re: New ClientID from Generic Installer

Postby Nick » Wed Apr 10, 2013 3:44 pm

I just tested with your generic from dCloud, and it worked great for me - you will see the "new test client" in your list momentarily.
Author of d7x and other PC technician's tools. http://www.d7xTech.com

Image
User avatar
Nick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2786
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm

Re: New ClientID from Generic Installer

Postby borkedpc » Wed Apr 10, 2013 3:47 pm

foolishtech wrote:Pay attention to see if you get the message:

"Do NOT forget, if you have any open dCloudConsole sessions, be sure to either Refresh Client ID List or close and re-open dCloudConsole!"

after creating a new ID during install.


I did get that message and dCC was closed. I was offsite at the time.
I've been swamped all day today. I'll test another one later.
borkedpc
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 1:47 pm
Location: Pennsylvania


Return to dSupportSuite Feature Suggestions