Page 1 of 2

Rogue Killer restarts PC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2015 12:28 pm
by 2RCTech
Hi,

I've just begun using d7II and have started to configure my custom apps. When the automation reaches Rogue Killer d7II acts as if it is downloading the software and the closes d7 but restarts the computer without running. Upon reboot it wishes to start the next application

Keep in mind this is the free version of Rogue Killer and this is stock d7- just downloaded the Core.zip and began configuring the apps. No other settings have been selected other than adding Rogue Killer to the custom list of apps.

Any ideas what could be causing this?

Re: Rogue Killer restarts PC

PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2015 1:48 am
by xide
well....no...that doesnt sound right at all. Yes it is normal for Rogue Killer to close d7ii, and its also normal for it to reboot after it finishes scanning, but not just from downloading. Is this only in auto mode? see what happens if you just double click it to manually run it. If it runs fine manually reconfigure what apps/functions you have set before rogue killer is ran. If it doesn't run manually it sounds like the program itself is somehow corrupt or an invalid command is being used with it....since recently Tigzy has been changing things around with Rogue Killer it wouldn't surprise me.

Lastly if none of that works download directly from adlice.com (rogue killer website) make sure it will run directly (just in case the website version is corrupt or local is outdated) if all good there then simply make a copy of the rogue killer config.....oh this is getting long already, if it doesn't work after all that just pm me and i should be able to help.

Re: Rogue Killer restarts PC

PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2015 8:46 am
by 2RCTech
Just double-clicking Rogue Killer to run had the same behavior. I will try some more testing today and if I can't seem to get it I'll let you know.

Thanks

Re: Rogue Killer restarts PC

PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2015 11:39 am
by Nick
just a suggestion, see if there is an issue with this on one PC or more than one - you may also test the rogue killer executable by launching it directly from your d7II\3rd Party Tools directory and see if the behavior is a problem just with Rogue Killer and that PC itself, or perhaps a corrupted download of the app, in which case you can try deleting it and seeing if the behavior persists.

Re: Rogue Killer restarts PC

PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2015 1:46 pm
by 2RCTech
It appears to happen on multiple computers. I've tried double-clicking the app, the progress bar appears stating its downloading, d7 closes, and then the computer reboots. If I check the logs it states that Rogue Killer was run even though it wasn't. Before I tried I made sure there was no Rogue Killer installer in the 3rd Party Tools folder first.

After this last reboot I checked the 3rd Party Tools folder. Sure enough there was a Rogue Killer installer. When I double-clicked it I receive a quick CMD window which I was able to make out the text on- the message reads "This program is too big to fit in memory". I had to keep double-clicking the Rogue Killer installer for me to read it as it opened and closed so quickly.

I can go the the Adlice website and get a copy and run it no problem. I tried copying the URL from the website and entering it in the CustomApp section but still same behavior.

Re: Rogue Killer restarts PC

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2015 2:40 am
by synapse
I've the same problem and i've noted that happen because the download url don't work, when i do a download test the first link fail and the second tell me it's ok but the file is only 71kb. I've a premium tech license of rogue killer and i've sent an email to tigzy to ask for a fix link of download.
In the d7ii configuration i have this link:
- h**p://www.adlice.com/softs/roguekiller/RogueKiller.exe
-h**p://www.sur-la-toile.com/RogueKiller/RogueKiller.exe for 32bit
and
- h**p://www.adlice.com/softs/roguekiller/RogueKillerX64.exe
- h**p://tigzy.geekstogo.com/Tools/RogueKillerX64.exe for 64bit
nothing of them work (in my case)

Re: Rogue Killer restarts PC

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2015 3:14 pm
by nikolaosp
Same here. Not with a tech licence, but the behaviour is the same. Auto mode or not, it restarts the pc and then goes on like nothing happened. 3.6 of d7ii.

Στάλθηκε από το HTC One μου

Re: Rogue Killer restarts PC

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 10:58 pm
by und3rtak3r
This issue SEEMED to be mainly on 32bit systems and d7 seemed to insist on the 64bit version.. Manually running the 32bit version of RK did the trick.. on the Odd 64bit and also some of the 32bit systems it appeared that the download did not complete.. manual download of RK worked 100%. that is only from quick observations.. I have not had the time to forensically examine the issue.

Re: Rogue Killer restarts PC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2015 1:15 am
by vmhs
und3rtak3r wrote:This issue SEEMED to be mainly on 32bit systems and d7 seemed to insist on the 64bit version.. Manually running the 32bit version of RK did the trick.. on the Odd 64bit and also some of the 32bit systems it appeared that the download did not complete.. manual download of RK worked 100%. that is only from quick observations.. I have not had the time to forensically examine the issue.

this coincides with my experience

I think you have found the issue.

Re: Rogue Killer restarts PC

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2015 3:57 pm
by 2RCTech
The fix, although not really a fix, that I've used has been to download the portable version of RK and place it in my 3rd Party Tools folder. Then clear the download links in the Custom Apps section. The only issue would be updating but perhaps I can get Ketarin to do that bit to keep the file up to date.